Trinity Hall Holds First Cum Laude Society Induction Ceremony

On May 25, Trinity Hall recognized and celebrated the academic achievements of our seniors and juniors at our first Cum Laude Society induction ceremony. The top 20 percent of the senior class and five members of the junior class were inducted into the honor society, of which Trinity Hall became a member this year.
Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The founders of the society modeled Cum Laude after Phi Beta Kappa and in the years since its founding, Cum Laude has grown to 382 chapters, including Trinity Hall's in 2021. 
Trinity Hall was honored to have Dr. Darryl J. Ford, regent of the Cum Laude Society's District II and head of school of William Penn Charter School in Philadelphia, attend the ceremony to welcome Trinity Hall into membership. 
He shared, "It has been abundantly clear that Trinity Hall's application for membership should be both approved and celebrated for all that your school has achieved and continues to strive for in the realms of learning, inquiry, and pursuit of knowledge. This moment which marks Trinity Hall's and your academic excellence is fostered and sustained by your teachers, parents, and trustees who desire to provide you, Trinity Hall students, with the best education possible."
The following students were granted membership into Trinity Hall's chapter of the Cum Laude Society:
Class of 2021: Giovanna DeJohn, Isabella Giallanza, Kathleen Lee, Caitlin Ramos, Lucy Retterer, Meredith Sheftel, Gabriella Sorrentino, Veronica Szenzenstein, Kailey Totland, Leighton Van Wagner, Charlotte Walsh, and Lauren Ward
Class of 2022: Caroline Cashman, Catherine Closkey, Sanan Gueyikian, Lydia Lu, and Kira Newbert
Mary Sciarrillo, head of school and president of Trinity Hall's Cum Laude Society chapter, presented the member certificates and charged the inductees with the responsibility of making contributions to the ongoing search for greater understanding of the world in which we live. Chapter Secretary and Dean of Students Dr. Melissa Whelan read the society motto and distributed the society pins.
"Our commitment to academic excellence has grown since our first days. As a faculty, being part of the Cum Laude Society was always the goal," said Mrs. Sciarrillo. "Together we worked toward this moment when the entire community celebrates academic excellence. Our inductees have distinguished themselves and are recognized for their commitment to learning and scholarship. They serve as models for our community. Congratulations!"
Also inducted into the Trinity Hall chapter were faculty members Kali Lambrou (STEM teacher), Alyssa Morreale (director of college counseling), and Nicole Sadowski (STEM team leader and teacher). These faculty members were honored for their service at Trinity Hall, leadership roles, advanced degrees, and commitment to professional development. 
Faculty inductee Mrs. Morreale addressed the students and faculty gathered for the ceremony. A founding member of the faculty, Mrs. Morreale has served Trinity Hall in several capacities over the past eight years: English and theology teacher, swim coach, humanities team leader, academic dean, and director of college counseling.  A graduate of the University of Notre Dame and Indiana University, she, too, graduated with honors.
"Being a member of the Cum Laude Society is not a passive reward given simply for getting good grades," said Mrs. Morreale. "Though the society honors scholarship at the highest level, it calls upon its members to do much more than just be good students. It calls upon its members to do good with the knowledge they have gained, the skills they have learned, and the God-given gifts and opportunities they have received."
Congratulations to all!

Notice of Nondiscriminatory Policy as to Students: Trinity Hall admits students of any race, color, national, and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.